Kirkpatrick Tops 2022 WPRA World Finals First Round Card Holder Race Competition

The first round of barrel racing is in the books in Waco, Texas, for the WPRA World Finals. See who cashed in.
Dena Kirkpatrick WPRA world finals barrel racing
Courtesy WPRA

WACO, TEXAS – It might have been a wet and cold day outside the Extraco Event Center in Waco but the competition inside was hot.

The first round of the card holder race featured 177 entries and Dena Kirkpatrick led the way with a time of 15.681 seconds. Kirkpatrick of Post, Texas, was aboard Gracies Lane to top the field of extremely talented jockeys and horses. Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, who will be making her 16th appearance at the Wrangler NFR next month finished second aboard RC Black in Famous, a horse she plans to have with her at the Thomas and Mack. The duo stopped the clock in a time of 15.741 seconds.

Money won this weekend in the card holder race will be added to the members 2023 ProRodeo Standings and is also serving as a RodeoHouston qualifier. The second round will be contested on Saturday with the top 30 returning for a final round on Sunday morning.

Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi and RC Black In Famous

All action is being live streamed. The live stream link, results and draws can all be found at

The permit only race also concluded their first round on Friday morning with Reagan Goudeau taking the first round win with 16.017 seconds. She won $989 for her win today. Goudeau of Hungerford, Texas, was aboard her horse Playboy. Kaycee Thomas and Lean Pie In The Sky took second in a time of 16.227 seconds, good for $848 on the day.

The second round of roping action gets underway Friday night at 7 p.m. CT and will be live streamed as well. Be sure to tune in.

Barrel Racing Card Holder Race Results

First round: 1. Dena Kirkpatrick, 15.681 seconds, $3,048; 2. Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, 15.741, $2,613; 3. Carley Cervi, 15.890, $2,177; 4. Cheyenne Wimberley, 15.922, $1,887; 5. Rainey Skelton, 15.934, $1,452; 6. Tasha Welsh, 15.939, $1,161; 7. Kelly Allen, 15.982, $871; 8. Cari Titsworth, 15.992, $581; 9. Dona Kay Rule, 15.994, $435; 10. Emily Beisel, 15.997, $290.