The Complete List of WPRA Resistol Rookie of the Year Barrel Racers

Find out which cowgirls have claimed the top beginner honors since 1967 in the WPRA.
Kalli McCall competing in barrel racing in Cowtown Coliseum.
Kalli McCall and "Mohawk," winning the Resistol Rookie Roundup in 2023. Image by Roseanna Sales.

Meet the entire roster of Resistol Rookie of the year award recipients in the barrel racing in the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association.

The prestigious Resistol Rookie of the Year title is awarded at the close of the WPRA season and presented during the National Finals Rodeo to the barrel racer who wins the most money that year and is a first-year cardholder in the WPRA.

WPRA Resistol Rookie of the Year winners

2023 Kalli McCall

2022 Bayleigh Choate

Choate qualified for the 2022 NFR and broke the rookie season earnings record with $182,970.62 on the year.

Bayleigh Choate turns a barrel at the 2022 NFR.
2022 Resistol Rookie of the Year Bayleigh Choate at the 2022 NFR. Image b Ric Andersen/CBarC Photography.

2021 Kylee Scribner

Kylee Scribner at Woodward okahoma barrel racing
Kylee Scribner | Phil Kitts/Avid Visual Imagery

2020 Paige Jones

Paige Jones Barrel Racing
Paige Jones. Phil Kitts/Avid Visual Imagery.

2019 Carly Taylor
2018 Jimmie Smith

Jimmie Smith barrel racing in Denver.
Jimmie Smith-Tew got the win at the National Western Stock Show and Rodeo in 2022. Image by Ric Andersen/CBarC Photography.

2017 Taci Bettis
2016 Cayla (Melby) Small 

Cayla Melby Small at the NFR
Cayla Melby Small | Hubbell Rodeo Photos

2015 Jackie Ganter

Jackie Ganter barrel racing on her horse Tycoon in Fort Worth.
Jackie Ganter wins the 2023 FWSSR with a 16.30-second run on Howes A Tycoon. FWSSR photo by James Phifer.

2014 Sarah Rose McDonald 

2013 Taylor Jacob

Not only is Jacob (Hanchey) a former Resistol Rookie of the Year and NFR qualifying barrel racer, Jacob (now Hanchey) is the first and only woman who also qualified for the National Finals of Breakaway Roping and has made multiple trips.

Taylor Jacob Hanchey Barrel Racing
Hubbell Rodeo Photos
Taylor Jacob Hanchey breakaway roping
Robert Rosales Photography

2012 Emily Efurd

Emily Efurd barrel racing
Emily Efurd now stays focused on the futurity realm, rather than rodeo. She and Hyper By Design won the second round and aggregate at the 2023 Ruby Buckle West Race. Image by Lexi Smith Media.

2011 Lee Ann Rust
2010 Lindsey Ewing
2009 Kelli Tolbert
2008 Sydni Blanchard

Sydni Blanchard barrel racing
Sydni Blanchard. Hubbell Rodeo Photos

2007 Julie Erkamaa
2006 Audrey Ridgeway 

2005 Chani Payne
2004 Sabrina Lay 

2003 Brittany Pozzi

Brittany Pozzi (now Tonozzi) is in the history books as the first and only barrel racer to enter the National Finals Rodeo in the No. 1 position as a barrel racing rookie in the WPRA in 2003.

Brittany Pozzi and Duke
Brittany Pozzi and the great Yeah Hes Firen. Hubbell Rodeo Images.

2002 Jill Besplug
2001 Connie Morris 

2000 Gloria Freeman 

1999 Jodi Hollingworth 

1998 Shelle Shaw 

1997 Peyton Raney
1996 Trula Truitt
1995 Ramona Scott
1994 Mindy Schueneman 

1993 JoAnn Middleton 

1992 Sharon Smith 

1991 Donna Kennedy
1990 Melody Smith
1989 Charlotte Schmidt 

1988 Vana Beissinger

1987 Lana Merrick-Hemsted 

1986 Laura Farley 

1985 Tacy Cates-Johnson 

1984 Charmayne James 

Charmayne James and Scamper
Charmayne James sporting the No. 1 back number at the 1987 NFR. | Courtesy WPRA by Springer Photography

1983 Sherry Elms
1982 Kathy Spears
1981 Lee Ann Guilkey 

1980 Wanda Cagliari
1979 Lynn Manning-Flynn 

1978 Carol Goostree 

1977 Jackie Jo Perrin 

1976 Darla Higgins

1975 Lynne Mayes

1974 Colette Graves-Baier 

1973 Cheryl Luman 

1972 Jann Kremling 

1971 Martha Tompkins- Wright
1970 Joleen Hurst Steiner 

1969 Lee Natalie
1968 Ann Lewis

1967 Patti Mack-Prather